IJCNMH ARCpublishing

Issue: Issue 3 (2016) – Supplement 2


Scales in stroke patients: the modified Rankin Scale

Luís Braz
The modified Rankin Scale (mRS) is a 7-level ordered categorical scale, which captures levels of patient functional independence following a stroke, with scores ranging from 0 (fully independent) to 6 (dead). The mRS has been reported to be a valid and reliable endpoint in randomized clinical trials and, as such, it is a common and recommended outcome measure in acute ischaemic stroke studies. In clinical practice, the mRS offers an easy and rapid assessment of the effect of a patient’s stroke on their activities and participation in a social context. Furthermore, its everyday use generally goes beyond stroke disability and broadens to global patient functional (in)dependence, aiding in several decisions concerning patient management. The application of a structured interview helps to classify patients in a more reliable way and improve inter-rater reliability. Since the interpretation and application of this scale is so important to those who manage or conduct research on stroke, a focused workshop is provided, including pitfalls as well as practical use recommendations.

Special Issue on Stroke. From the Porto University Center of Medicine Stroke Update Course, Porto, Portugal. 7–8 June 2016.

International Journal of Clinical Neurosciences and Mental Health 2016; 3(Suppl. 2):L22
Icon_pdf Download PDF